the beginning is the end is the beginning

June 20, 2006 / 11:15 p.m.

my first letter to you was an unsent cry for help
i had attended a funeral earlier in the month
as part of military courtesy
i was there to present his widow the flag draped across his casket
it was raining
and his widow was the only person in attendence
besides me and the priest

before he was lowered into the earth
the priest asked his widow if she would like to speak any last words
on Daniels behalf
fighting back obvious sobs, she said
"I only hope that he is happier now"
it was still raining

after folding the flag
fresh off the coffin
I read Daniels widow
the speach I read to all the ones left behind to recieve the flag

on behalf of the president of the United States, the Commandant of the Marine Corps, and a greatful Nation...I present this flag to you as a token of our appreciation for your loved ones dedicated and faithful service to God, Country, and Corps...may he rest peacefully.

I held her hand for a moment
straightened up
saluted
and left for my goverment vehicle

how does a man live 69 years
and have only one person present to say goodbye?
does no one remember his life?
does anyone care?

for what it's worth,
I will remember you, Daniel Nelson.

We buried you in the rain
which helped hide my tears..

please, oh please...don't let me die alone.

previous/next

Site
Meter