the beginning is the end is the beginning

June 29, 2006 / 12:14 a.m.

we sat by the river with our feet in the water talking about what it'd be like to be something when we both know we're nothing
"we could fall in and drown..."
"and no one would notice."
it was one of those nights with no moon and no hope and maybe we should have jumped in. just for a change, for a chance at making news.
"you want to leave?"
"nah, not yet"
i cracked a joke about seeing my reflection in the water, and how I look terrible. you said my outfit was nice, but that wasn't it. my normally blue eyes have gone dead and gray, I haven't shaved in days. Even my skin..it looks sick.
"i look like a corpse, who's not willing to give up and be buried just yet"
"no..you just look unhappy"
"yea...maybe that's it"
it was about time to leave. not because we had to be anywhere, but it just felt like the right time to go. on the walk to my car you grabbed my hand, and you squeezed, just for a second, just enough that I'd notice it.
"cheer up kid, tomorrow's another day"
"that's what worries me..."

previous/next

Site
Meter