the beginning is the end is the beginning

August 10, 2006 / 10:01 p.m.

I could see the lightening
from the storm up ahead
driving home
southbound on 495
it hadn't hit me yet
and I was enjoying
some Elvis Costello
on the radio
(not his early punk rock days
but his softer, piano album)
it was peaceful
with the windows down
and the New England air
whipping across my face
thinking about my night
with the girl
who's hair color invokes thoughts of passion
(or,...lust?)
around the point
where Mr. Costello opens up
and sings with a voice sounding so lost
"So what's the use of promises?
I had my fingers crossed."
the sky broke open
and my peaceful drive was interrupted
by a storm so powerful
that it forced my car
to the side of the road
I climbed up onto the roof
and laid on my back
staring into the heart of the lightening
the music was really picking up now
and I was singing along into the night
getting soaked to the bone,
breathing in the scent of summer
and wishing the girl
with the fiery hair
was singing and sitting with me
this was something
not to be experienced alone

previous/next

Site
Meter