the beginning is the end is the beginning

march 6th, 2001 / nine oh one pm

driving past the same old house

on the same old road

that we've drivin past

for countless years now

i sense myself growing a bit nostalgic

i remeber when then house

wasn't so dilapitaded

and the greyish brown fence

was once white

i also remember when the road

wasn't so old

with fresh black pavement

and yellow centering lines

now all that remains

are potholes

and cracks in the greying cement

the thing that saddens me the most about the house

are the childhood memories i share with it

my first kiss,

my grandfather,

street hockey games with neighbors

a family that enjoyed each others company.

as i grow older

and leave my past far behind

i will always remember

the little house

that i once shared so much with

and when the house is finally condemmed,

torn down, and turned into a super market

or store 24

my childhood will be gone with it.

previous/next

Site
Meter